Parts of the Indian Constitution

Parts of the Indian Constitution- Introduction

The Constituent Assembly adopted the Indian Constitution on 26th November 1949, and it came into effect on 26th January 1950. The Constitution of India has borrowed most of its provisions from various constitutions of the countries as well as from the Government of India Act of 1935. The structural part of the Constitution is to a large extent and derived from the Government of India Act of 1935. The political part of the Constitution is derived from the British Constitution. The philosophical part of the Constitution is derived from the Irish and American Constitution respectively. In the countries, the Indian Constitution is the longest written constitution of the world. The Indian Constitution, originally, had 395 Articles which were divided into 22 parts and 8 schedules. Now, with 104 amendments till 25 January 2020, it has 470 Articles which are divided into 25 parts and 12 schedules.

The original Indian Constitution had 22 parts and 395 Articles and after amendments, currently, it contains 25 parts and 470 Articles.

To know about the 25 parts of the Indian Constitution, refer to the table below.

PartSubjectArticles Covered
Part IThe Union and its territory1 to 4
Part IICitizenship5 to 11
Part IIIFundamental Rights12 to 35
Part IVDirective Principles36 to 51
Part IV-AFundamental Duties51-A
Part VThe Union52 to 151
Part VIThe States152 to 237
Part VIIThe States in Part B of the First Schedule (deleted)238 (deleted)
Part VIIIThe Union Territories239 to 242
Part IXThe Panchayats243 to 243-O
Part IX-AThe Municipalities243-P to 243-ZG
Part IX-BCo-operative Societies243-ZH – 243-ZT
Part XThe Scheduled and Tribal Areas244 to 244-A
Part XIRelations between the Union and the States245 to 263
Part XIIFinance, Property, Contracts and Suits264 to 300-A
Part XIIITrade, Commerce and Intercourse within the Territory of India301 to 307
Part XIVServices under the Union and the States308 to 323
Part XIV-ATribunals323-A to 323-B
Part XVElections324 to 329-A
Part XVISpecial provisions relation to certain classes330 to 342
Part XVIIOfficial Language343 to 351
Part XVIIIEmergency Provisions352 to 360
Part XIXMiscellaneous361 to 367
Part XXAmendment of the Constitution368
Part XXITemporary, Transitional and Special Provisions369 to 392
Part XXII 

Short title, commencement, authoritative text in Hindi and repeals


393 to 395


  • In 1956, Part VII was deleted by the 7th Amendment Act.
  • In 1976, Part IV-A and Part XIV-A was added by the 42nd Amendment Act.
  • In 1992, Part IX-A was added by the 74th Amendment Act.
  • In 2011, Part IX-B was added by the 97th Amendment Act.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!