List of European Countries With Their Respective Capitals and Currencies

European Countries With Their Respective Capitals and Currencies

Europe is the second smallest continent of the earth. It is located entirely in the Northern Hemisphere and mostly in the Eastern Hemisphere. The European continent shares borders with the Arctic Ocean to the north, the Atlantic Ocean to the west, the Mediterranean Sea to the south, the Black Sea to the southeast and Asia to the east. It covers an area of 10,180,000 square km, almost 6.8% of Earth’s total land area. It is the third most populous continent of the world. In Europe, there are 50 United Nation recognized countries, special territories with internal sovereignty, de facto states (not recognized by the United Nations), and 6 dependent territories of the other countries. The largest country of this continent is Russia and the smallest country is Vatican City. Vatican City is a tiny territory in the centre of Rome. Russia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Turkey, and Georgia are transcontinental countries partially located in both Europe and Asia. Politically, Cyprus and Armenia are considered European countries though they are located in West Asia territory. Conventionally, there are seven main geographical subregions in Europe. These subregions are the Northern, Western, Central, Eastern, Southeast, Southwest, and Southern parts of Europe.


  Download Europe Map  

[Click Here]  

To know about the fifty United Nations recognised European countries with their respective capitals, currencies, official languages and flags, refer to the table below. 

CountryCapitalCurrencyOfficial Languages FlagSubregion
DenmarkCopenhagenDanish KroneDanishNorthern Europe
FinlandHelsinkiEuroFinnish, SwedishNorthern Europe
IcelandReykjavikIcelandic KronaIcelandicNorthern Europe
NorwayOsloNorwegian KroneNorwegianNorthern Europe
SwedenStockholmSwedish KronaSwedishNorthern Europe
EstoniaTallinnEuroEstonian, RussianNorthern Europe
LatviaRigaEuroLatvian, RussianNorthern Europe
LithuaniaVilniusEuroLithuanianNorthern Europe
United KingdomLondonPound sterlingEnglishNorthern Europe
IrelandDublinEuroIrish, EnglishNorthern Europe
AustriaViennaEuroGerman, CroatianCentral Europe
BelgiumBrusselsEuroDutch, FrenchWestern Europe
FranceParisEuroFrenchWestern Europe
GermanyBerlinEuroGermanCentral Europe
LiechtensteinVaduzSwiss FrancGermanCentral Europe
LuxembourgLuxembourg CityEuroLuxembourgish, FrenchWestern Europe
NetherlandsAmsterdamEuroDutchWestern Europe
SwitzerlandBerneSwiss FrancGerman, FrenchWestern Europe
BelarusMinskBelarusian RoubleBelarusian, RussianEastern Europe
BulgariaSofiaLevBulgarianSoutheast Europe
Czech RepublicPragueCzech KorunaCzechCentral Europe
HungaryBudapestForintHungarianCentral Europe
MoldovaChisinauMoldovanleuRomanianEastern Europe
PolandWarsawNew ZlotyPolishCentral Europe
RomaniaBucharestRomanianleuRomanianEastern Europe
RussiaMoscowRussian RoubleRussianEastern Europe
SlovakiaBratislavaEuroSlovakCentral Europe
UkraineKyivHryvniaUkrainianEastern Europe
AlbaniaTiranaLekAlbanianSoutheast Europe
AndorraAndorra laVellaEuroCatalanSouthern Europe
ArmeniaYerevanDramArmenianWestern Asia
AzerbaijanBakuManatAzerbaijaniEastern Europe
Bosnia and HerzegovinaSarajevoConvertiblemarkBosnian, SerbianSoutheast Europe
CroatiaZagrebKunaCroatianSoutheast Europe
CyprusNicosiaEuroGreekWestern Asia
GeorgiaTbilisiGeorgian lariGeorgianEastern Europe
GreeceAthensEuroGreekSoutheast Europe
ItalyRomeEuroItalianSouthern Europe
KazakhstanNur-SultanTengeKazakhEastern Europe
MaltaVallettaEuroMaltese, EnglishSouthern Europe
MonacoMonaco CityEuroFrenchWestern Europe
MontenegroPodgoricaEuroMontenegrinSoutheast Europe
North MacedoniaSkopjeMacedoniandenarMacedonian, AlbanianSoutheast Europe
PortugalLisbonEuroPortugueseSouthwest Europe
San MarinoSanMarinoEuroItalianSouthern Europe
SerbiaBelgradeSerbian dinarSerbianSouthern Europe
SloveniaLjubljanaEuroSloveneCentral Europe
SpainMadridEuroSpanishSouthwest Europe
TurkeyAnkaraTurkish LiraTurkishEastern Europe
Vatican CityVatican CityEuroItalianSouthern Europe

Three special territories with internal sovereignty are situated in Europe. These territories are integral part of their controlling state. To know about these special territories with their respective capitals, currencies, official languages, and flags, refer to the table below.

TerritoryCapitalCurrencyOfficial LanguagesControlling stateFlagSubregion
AlandMariehamnEuroSwedish FinlandNorthern Europe
Northern IrelandBelfastPoundsterlingEnglish United KingdomNorthern Europe
SvalbardLongyearbyenNorwegian KroneNorwegian NorwayNorthern Europe

Six de facto states (not recognized by the United Nations) are situated in Europe. To know about these de facto states with their respective capitals, currencies, official languages, and flags, refer to the table below.  

CountryCapitalCurrencyOfficial Languages FlagSub Region
AbkhaziaSukhumiAbkhazianapsarAbkhazEastern Europe
ArtsakhStepanakertArtsakh dramArmenianEastern Europe
KosovoPristinaEuroAlbanianSoutheast Europe
Northern CyprusNorth NicosiaTurkishliraTurkishEastern Europe
South OssetiaTskhinvaliRussian RoubleOssetian, RussianEastern Europe
TransnistriaTiraspolTransnistrian RoubleRussian, MoldovanEastern Europe

In Europe, six territories are controlled by other countries. To know about this type of dependent territories with their capitals, currencies, official languages, and flags, refer to the table below. 

TerritoryCapitalCurrencyOfficial Languages Ruling Power FlagSub Region
Akrotiri and DhekeliaEpiskopi CantonmentEuroEnglish United KingdomEastern Europe
Faroe IslandsTorshavnFaroese KronaFaroese, Danish DenmarkNorthern Europe
GibraltarGibraltarGibraltar PoundEnglish United KingdomSouthwest Europe
GuernseyGuernseyPound SterlingEnglish United KingdomWestern Europe
Isle of ManDouglasPound SterlingEnglish United KingdomNorthern Europe
JerseySaint HelierPound SterlingEnglish, Jerriais United KingdomWestern Europe



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!