List of Emblems of Indian States

Table of Contents

 List of Emblems of Indian States

An emblem by definition is “a heraldic object or symbolic object as a unique insignia that represents any country or organization, or something that represents a particular person, group, idea, quality”. The emblem word comes from the Greek word “emblema“, which means “embossed ornament“. An emblem may be worn or otherwise used as an identifying badge or patch.

The national emblem of India is an adaptation of the Lion Capital atop the Ashoka Pillar of Sarnath, Uttar Pradesh, and is combined with the words “Satyameva Jayate“, written in Devnagari Script.  The words “Satyameva Jayate” are the National Motto of India. It is translated as ‘Truth alone triumphs’. The words “Satyameva Jayate” are a quote from Mundaka Upanishad, which is an ancient Sanskrit Vedic text, embedded inside Atharva Veda. The National Emblem of India is also called the State Emblem of India.

This article is based on the list of emblems of Indian states. At present, India has 28 states and 8 union territories. Most of the states in India have their own state emblems or seals, which are used as official governmental symbols. However, six states use the National Emblem of India as their official governmental seal.

Refer to the table below to find out about the list of emblems of the Indian states.

Andhra PradeshEmblem of Andhra Pradesh
Arunachal Pradesh Emblem of Arunachal Pradesh
AssamUses the National Emblem of India
BiharEmblem of Bihar
ChhattisgarhEmblem of Chhattisgarh
GoaEmblem of Goa
GujaratUses the National Emblem of India
HaryanaEmblem of Haryana
Himachal PradeshEmblem of Himachal Pradesh
JharkhandEmblem of Jharkhand
KarnatakaEmblem of Karnataka
KeralaEmblem of Kerala
Madhya PradeshEmblem of Madhya Pradesh
MaharashtraEmblem of Maharashtra
ManipurEmblem of Manipur
MeghalayaUses the National Emblem of India
MizoramUses the National Emblem of India
NagalandEmblem of Nagaland
OdishaEmblem of Odisha
PunjabEmblem of Punjab
RajasthanUses the National Emblem of India
SikkimEmblem of Sikkim
Tamil NaduEmblem of Tamil Nadu
TelanganaEmblem of Telangana
TripuraUses the National Emblem of India
Uttar PradeshEmblem of Uttar Pradesh
UttarakhandEmblem of Uttarakhand
West BengalEmblem of West Bengal

Note- Only six states use the National Emblem of India as their official governmental seal. These states are AssamGujaratMeghalayaMizoramPunjab, and Rajasthan.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!