List of Asian Countries With Their Respective Capitals and Currencies

List of Asian Countries With Their Respective Capitals and Currencies

Asia is the largest and most diverse continent of the earth. It is located in the Eastern and Northern Hemispheres. Asia covers an area of 44,614,000 square km, almost 30% of Earth’s total land area. It is the most populous continent of the world. In Asia, there are 49 United Nations recognized countries, United Nations observer country, de facto states (not recognized by the United Nations), and dependent territories of other countries. The largest country of this continent is Russia and the smallest country is Maldives. Conventionally, there are six main geographical sub regions in Asia. These sub regions are the northern, western, central, eastern, southern and southeast parts of Asia.


  Download Asia Map  

[Click Here]  

To know about the forty-nine United Nations recognized Asian countries with their capitals, currencies, official languages, and flags, refer to the table below.




 Official Languages


 Sub Region



Russian ruble


 Northern Asia





Western Asia

AzerbaijanBakuManat AzerbaijaniWestern Asia
BahrainManamaBahraini Dinar ArabicWestern Asia
CyprusNicosiaEuro Greek and TurkishWestern Asia
Egypt (only Sinai Peninsula)CairoEgyptian pound ArabicWestern Asia
GeorgiaTbilisiGeorgian lari GeorgianWestern Asia
IranTehranIranian rial PersianWestern Asia
IraqBaghdadIraqi dinar Arabic and KurdishWestern Asia
IsraelJerusalemNew shekel HebrewWestern Asia
JordanAmmanJordanian dinar ArabicWestern Asia
KuwaitKuwait CityKuwaiti dinar ArabicWestern Asia
LebanonBeirutLebanese pound ArabicWestern Asia
OmanMuscatOmani rial ArabicWestern Asia
PalestineRamallahEgyptian Pound, Israeli Shekel, and Jordaniandinar    ArabicWestern Asia
QatarDohaQatari riyal ArabicWestern Asia
Saudi ArabiaRiyadhSaudi Riyal ArabicWestern Asia
SyriaDamascusSyrian pound ArabicWestern Asia
Turkey (except Turkish Thrace)AnkaraTurkish lira TurkishWestern Asia
United Arab EmiratesAbu DhabiUAE dirham ArabicWestern Asia
YemenSana’a(De jure)Aden (Temporary capital)Yemeni rial ArabicWestern Asia
KazakhstanNur-SultanTenge KazakhCentral Asia
KyrgyzstanBishkekKyrgyzstani som KyrgyzCentral Asia
TajikistanDushanbeSomoni TajikCentral Asia
TurkmenistanAshgabatTurkmenistan manat TurkmenCentral Asia
UzbekistanTashkentUzbek som UzbekCentral Asia
ChinaBeijingRenminbi MandarinEastern Asia
JapanTokyoJapanese yen JapaneseEastern Asia
MongoliaUlaanbaatarTogrog MongolianEastern Asia
North KoreaPyongyangKorean People’s won KoreanEastern Asia
South KoreaSeoulKorean Republic won KoreanEastern Asia
AfghanistanKabulAfghani Dari and PashtoSouthern Asia
BangladeshDhakaTaka BengaliSouthern Asia
BhutanThimphuNgultrum DzongkhaSouthern Asia
IndiaNew DelhiIndian rupee Hindi and EnglishSouthern Asia
MaldivesMaleMaldivian rufiyaa DhivehiSouthern Asia
NepalKathmanduNepalese rupee NepaliSouthern Asia
PakistanIslamabadPakistani rupee Urdu and EnglishSouthern Asia
Sri LankaColombo (executive & judicial)Sir Jayawardenepure Kotte (legislative)Sri Lankan rupee  Sinhala and TamilSouthern Asia
BruneiBandar Seri BegawanBrunei Dollar MalaySoutheast Asia
CambodiaPhnom PenhRiel KhmerSoutheast Asia
IndonesiaJakartaIndonesian rupiah IndonesianSoutheast Asia
LaosVientianeKip LaoSoutheast Asia
MalaysiaKuala LumpurRinggit MalaysianSoutheast Asia
MyanmarNaypyidawKyat BurmeseSoutheast Asia
PhilippinesManilaPhilippine peso Filipino and EnglishSoutheast Asia
SingaporeSingaporeSingapore dollar English, Malay,MandarinSoutheast Asia
ThailandBangkokBaht ThaiSoutheast Asia
Timor- LesteDiliUnited States dollar Tetum and PortugueseSoutheast Asia
VietnamHanoiDong VietnameseSoutheast Asia

Note- Palestine is recognized by the United Nations as an observer state. It is recognized by 138 UN member states.

In Asia, five de facto states, a de facto state means a state with full practical sovereignty over its territory and unofficial ties with most of the international community but not widely recognized de jure.

To know about these de facto states with their capitals, currencies, official languages, and flags, refer to the table below.

CountryCapitalCurrencyOfficial LanguagesFlagSub Region
TaiwanTaipeiNew Taiwan dollarMandarinEastern Asia
AbkhaziaSukhumiAbkhazian apsar and Russion rubleAbkhaz and RussionWestern Asia
ArtsakhStepanakertArtsakh dram and Armenian dramArmenian and RussianWestern Asia
Northern CyprusNorth NicosiaTurkish liraTurkishWestern Asia
South OssetiaTskhinvaliRussian rubleOssetian and RussianWestern Asia

In Asia, six territories (Some are federal territories, autonomous areas, and depend territories of sovereign states) are controlled by other countries. To know about this type of territories with their capitals, currencies, official languages, and flags, refer to the table below.

TerritoryCapitalCurrencyOfficial Languages

Ruling Power

FlagSub Region
Akrotiri and DhekeliaEpiskopi CantonmentEuroEnglish



Western Asia
Hong Kong Hong Kong dollarChinese and EnglishChinaEastern Asia
Macau Macanese PatacaCantonese and PortugueseChineEastern Asia
British Indian Ocean TerritoryCamp JusticeUnited States DollarEnglish



Southern Asia
Christmas IslandFlying Fish CoveAustralian dollarNoneAustraliaSoutheast Asia
Cocos (Keeling) IslandsWest IslandAustralian dollarNoneAustraliaSoutheast Asia

Note-West Asia is also known as Western Asia or Southwest Asia.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!