In a parliamentary form of government, the Parliament is the most important organ. The legislative branch of the Union government of India is called the Parliament, which consists of the President and two houses known as the House of the People (Lok Sabha) and the Council of States (Rajya Sabha). 

Parliament Read More »

Central Council of Ministers

Central Council of Ministers The Constitution of India states that there shall be a Council of Ministers with the Prime Minister at the head to aid and advise the President in the exercise of his functions. The President shall exercise his powers according to the advice of the Council of Ministers. However, the President can

Central Council of Ministers Read More »

Prime Minister

In the parliamentary system of government, the Prime Minister is the most important post. He is the most powerful functionary who controls both the Parliament and the Executive.  The Prime Minister is the head of the government because he is the head of the Council of Ministers.

Prime Minister Read More »


Vice-President Article 63 of the Constitution says that there shall be a Vice-President of India. The Vice-President is accorded a rank next to the President in the official warrant of precedence. He occupies the second highest office in the country. According to the Constitution, the Vice-President functions as ex-officio Chairman of Rajya Sabha. Being ex-officio

Vice-President Read More »


President   India is a democratic republic with parliamentary form of government. The government at the Central level is called ‘Union Government’ and at the State level it is known as ‘State Government’. Both the Union and the State governments are organized and function based on the principles of parliamentary system of government. According to the

President   Read More »

Inter-State Relations

 Though a federal Constitution involves the sovereignty of the Units within their respective territorial limits, it is not possible for them to remain in complete isolation from each other. Because the smooth operation of any federal system is dependent not only on harmonious relations and close cooperation between the Centre and the states, but also on inter-state cooperation. Like other federal constitutions, the Indian Constitution also makes the following provisions with regard to inter-state comity:

Inter-State Relations Read More »

Centre State Relations

Centre State Relations The Indian Constitution, being federal in structure, divides all powers-legislative, executive and financial between the centre and the states. However, the Constitution of India has established an integrated judicial system to enforce both the Central laws as well as state laws. Hence, there is no division of judicial power in the Indian

Centre State Relations Read More »

Federal System

On the basis of relations between the national government and its constituent parts, such as states or provinces, the government can be classified into unitary and federal. In a unitary government, the relationship between the centre and its constituent parts such as states or provinces are largely one-sided, with the central government enjoying almost complete control over its constituent parts such as states or provinces. In a unitary system, almost all power and responsibility are vested in the central government. Local governments may only exercise power through the central government. In this system, sovereignty is vested in the central government alone.

Federal System Read More »

Parliamentary System

Introduction Another important feature of the Indian political system is its parliamentary form of government both at the union and state levels. However, democratic governments are classified into parliamentary and presidential on the basis of nature of relations between the executive and the legislative organs of the government. The Constitution of India provides for a

Parliamentary System Read More »

error: Content is protected !!