In a parliamentary form of government, the Parliament is the most important organ. The legislative branch of the Union government of India is called the Parliament, which consists of the President and two houses known as the House of the People (Lok Sabha) and the Council of States (Rajya Sabha). 

List of Deputy Chairmen of Rajya Sabha of India The Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha is elected under Article 89 of

List of Chairmen of Rajya Sabha of India The presiding officer of the Rajya Sabha is known as the Chairman. The Vice-President

List of Deputy Speakers of Lok Sabha of India The Deputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha is also elected under Article 93

List of Speakers of Lok Sabha of India The Speaker of the Lok Sabha is elected under Article 93 of the Indian

Central Council of Ministers The Constitution of India states that there shall be a Council of Ministers with the Prime Minister at

List of Deputy Prime Ministers of India The Deputy Prime Minister of India is a member of the Union Council of Ministers.

The Prime Minister is the real head of the Union executive in India. The Prime Minister is appointed by the President, but the President has to invite only that person to be the Prime Minister who is the leader of the majority party in the Lok Sabha.

In the parliamentary system of government, the Prime Minister is the most important post. He is the most powerful functionary who controls both the Parliament and the Executive.  The Prime Minister is the head of the government because he is the head of the Council of Ministers.

Vice-President Article 63 of the Constitution says that there shall be a Vice-President of India. The Vice-President is accorded a rank next

The Vice-President occupies the second highest office in the country. He is accorded a rank next to the President in the official warrant of precedence. According to the Constitution, the Vice-President functions as ex-officio Chairman of Rajya Sabha.


President   India is a democratic republic with parliamentary form of government. The government at the Central level is called ‘Union Government’ and

The President is the head of the Indian State. He is also the Executive Head of India and all the executive powers of the Union are vested in him. The President is the Supreme Commander of the armed forces. He is the first citizen of India and acts as a symbol of unity, integrity, and solidarity of the nation.

Generally, the federal government is a weak government because it involves a division of power. However, every modern federation has made a provision to avoid this weakness by providing some extraordinary powers to the federal government.

 Though a federal Constitution involves the sovereignty of the Units within their respective territorial limits, it is not possible for them to remain in complete isolation from each other. Because the smooth operation of any federal system is dependent not only on harmonious relations and close cooperation between the Centre and the states, but also on inter-state cooperation. Like other federal constitutions, the Indian Constitution also makes the following provisions with regard to inter-state comity:

Centre State Relations The Indian Constitution, being federal in structure, divides all powers-legislative, executive and financial between the centre and the states.

On the basis of relations between the national government and its constituent parts, such as states or provinces, the government can be classified into unitary and federal. In a unitary government, the relationship between the centre and its constituent parts such as states or provinces are largely one-sided, with the central government enjoying almost complete control over its constituent parts such as states or provinces. In a unitary system, almost all power and responsibility are vested in the central government. Local governments may only exercise power through the central government. In this system, sovereignty is vested in the central government alone.

Introduction Another important feature of the Indian political system is its parliamentary form of government both at the union and state levels.

The Constituent Assembly adopted the Indian Constitution on 26th November 1949, and it came into effect on 26th January 1950. The Constitution of India has borrowed most of its provisions from various constitutions of the countries as well as from the Government of India Act of 1935. The structural part of the Constitution is to a large extent and derived from the Government of India Act of 1935.

The Indian Constitution is neither flexible nor rigid but a synthesis of both that can be amended according to the needs of society whenever required. Constitution under Article 368 grants power to the Parliament to amend whenever there is a necessity. The Article also lays down the procedure for amendment in detail. However, this power of the Parliament is not absolute. The Supreme Court has the power to declare any law that it finds unconstitutional void.

Recent Posts

Random Posts

Popular Topics

error: Content is protected !!